The financial politics of Sweden


The Swedish parliament contains of 349 elected representatives whos main responsibility is to enact new laws and make decisions about the state maintenance. Their job is mainly to consider proposals and questions from the various committees and from the government.

The Swedish Government 

In order to keep the proposals separated they use different terms: proposals from members of the parliament are referred to as "motioner" (motions), while proposals from the government are referred to as "propositioner" (propositions).

The Swedish government is currently run by Head of State Stefan Löfven (Leader of The Social Democrats Party) and his 22 ministers, e.g. Magdalena Andersson (Minister of Finances), Ann Linde (Minister of Foreign Affairs) and Anna Ekström (Minister of Education).

The Department of Finance

Or the treasury, handles the state budget, various taxes, the government´s administration, consumers politics and many other matters that concerns the Swedish state´s economy. The Department of Finance is currently led by Minister of Finance Magdalena Andersson, Civil Minister Lena Micko and assistant Minister of Finance Per Bolund.

Magdalena Andersson has a long and solid education within the field of finance. She´s also done a lot of research specializing in national economics. Andersson studied at The School of Business (Handelshögskolan) in Stockholm in 1992, at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Vienna in 1994 and at Harvard University (USA) in 1995.

About Magdalena Andersson

Andersson´s Curriculum Vitae is quite impressive: 

  • Spokesperson for The Social Democrats (2012 - 2014)
  • Director General at The Tax Authority (2009 - 2012)
  • Domestic policy adviser for The Social Democrats (2007 - 2009) 
  • State Secretary at The Department of Finance (2004 - 2006)

About The state of Sweden

The four main divisions: 

  • The Head of State
  • The Parliament
  • The Government
  • The Courts 

The four main constitutions: 

  • The Governmental Constitution
  • The Order of Succession
  • The Freedom of Speech
  • The Regulation of Press